Could you date a whore?

red-lightSometime in 2012

“Would you date me if I became a prostitute?”

Some Ex: “No.”

“Oh. Why not?”

“Well, because, Alice, you’d be a prostitute.”

“Oh. Yeah. I suppose.”

I sat for a few minutes puffing on an early version of the vape that tasted vaguely like a candy cane. I tried to think if I could date a whore. Would it upset me? Could I really sit at home thinking about my partner fucking someone else?

The first snow fall of 2017

I’m sitting eating potato waffles and a veggie sausage roll while my girlfriend fucks someone else. Well, no, she got there 15 minutes ago unless he is VERY quick but it’s a four hour booking so I doubt it.

I look at my phone.

The Whore: Have a good night at work.

Me: You too 🙂

The Whore: I love you.

Me: I love you too.

So much for whether or not I could do it.

The strangest thing about dating a whore is how not strange it actually is. Not that four and a half years of being in the sex industry have exactly given me a ‘normal’ parameter of strange. I, myself, have been a stripper for many years and have asked my partners to be OK with it so perhaps this is a taste of my own medicine.

Except that it isn’t particularly bitter. I love the open conversations that we have about sex, life and desire.

For example:

The Whore: I don’t know if I could ever be called Mommy myself.

Me: What about calling someone else Mommy or Daddy?

The Whore: Hey, if someone is going to pay me 2k a month, I’ll call them whatever the fuck they want me to.

It’s surprisingly refreshing and frank.

I come home and bitch about punters and she totally gets it. We empathize about time wasters, the lack of unions out there for us and reflect on the increasingly dark view that society has of our work.

So, it turns out my ex was wrong. I can date a whore. And it’s not terrible at all. It’s actually pretty great.

What will follow is a series of stories, some my own and some my partners and some other people I meet on this crazy life train. They are all true and from real badasses. KIT, my life is pretty weird.

Leave a Reply

